New Faces on the LZH Board

Dr. Volker Schmidt (l.) and Dr. Dietmar Kracht (r.), new members of the board of the Laser Zentrum Hannover e.V. (LZH)

The board of the Laser Zentrum Hannover e.V. (LZH) has been restructured as of May 1st, 2009. Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Ertmer was appointed as the new head of the board of directors following his predecessor Prof. Dr. Uwe Morgner. Prof. Dr.-Ing. Berend Denkena, Leibniz University Hannover, is no longer on the board.

New members of the board are: Dr. Dietmar Kracht and Dr. Volker Schmidt.

Dr. Dietmar Kracht has a PhD in physics and has been chief executive officer of the LZH since October 1st, 2008. Dr. Kracht has been working at the LZH since 2002 and was head of the department of laser development from 2005 to 2008.

Dr. Volker Schmidt has a doctorate in economics. He was the head of the political department of the chancellery of the State of Lower Saxony under state Prime Minister Christian Wulff. Since last year, Dr. Schmidt has been chief executive of the employer association of the metal industry in Lower Saxony.

Press release for download: 

Laser Zentrum Hannover e.V. (LZH)
Michael Botts
Hollerithallee 8
D-30419 Hannover
Tel.: +49 511 2788-151
Fax: +49 511 2788-100

The Laser Zentrum Hannover e.V. (LZH) carries out research and development in the field of laser technology and is supported by the Ministry of Economic Affairs, Labour and Transport of the State of Lower Saxony (Niedersächsisches Ministerium für Wirtschaft, Arbeit und Verkehr).